Top Menu

Youth Writing Experience

Teen Writing Programs & Young Writers’ Programs are held each summer throughout the province. They offer up to 14 youth in each location the opportunity to develop their creative writing skills with a professional writer as instructor. The workshops are held in partnership with local libraries and are offered free of charge to participants.

For teen programs, applicants should be between 14 – 18 years old at the time of the program they intend to apply for.

For young writers’ programs, see the program page for recommended participant ages.

Applicants to some of the programs are asked to upload a short sample of their writing and a paragraph or two about why they would like to come to Sage Hill.

The 2020 Teen and Young Writers’ Workshops are now complete.

Thanks to participants who joined Sage Hill’s very first virtual workshops!

Check back in the spring to apply for the summer 2021 Youth Workshops.


2020 Teen Programs:

Evonne Garnett – Prince Albert            Kristine Scarrow – Moose Jaw
Melanie Schnell – Regina            Danica Lorer – Saskatoon
Janelle “ecoaborijanelle” Pewapsconias – La Ronge

2020 Young Writers’ Programs:

Madonna Hamel – Swift Current


Contact us with your questions any time.

Are you looking to offer a teen / young writers’ program in your community?
Sage Hill partners with organizations that can contribute a program venue, on-site coordination, and potentially program cost-sharing. If your organization would like to work with us, please contact

If you are interested in instructing a Teen or Young Writers’ Workshop, please send your resume / C.V. and cover letter to

Sage Hill’s Teen and Young Writers’ Workshops are made possible
by generous donors, funders, and community partners.

Many thanks to the Community Initiatives Fund, Saskatchewan Arts Board, Canada Council for the Arts, SaskCulture, SaskLotteries, the City of Saskatoon, the City of Regina, the Saskatchewan Festival of Words, Churchill Community High School (La Ronge), Saskatoon Public Library, Regina Public Library, John M. Cuelenaere Public Library (Prince Albert), the Swift Current Chinook Regional Library, and Brick Books.


Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes